Keep Your Driving Privileges And Clean Record After A DWI Arrest
In the state of Texas, it is illegal to drive a motor vehicle if you have:
- A blood alcohol content (BAC) in excess of 0.08%
- Lost use of physical facilities as a result of alcohol or drug consumption
- Lost use of mental faculties as a result of alcohol or drug consumption
It is also illegal for drivers under the age of 21 to drive with ANY detectable amount of alcohol in their system. If suspected of having alcohol in their system, they can be charged with “DUI,” or driving under the influence. Bear in mind, drivers under the age of 21 can also be charged with a DWI depending on the circumstances.
At The Law Firm of Joseph Lassen, we represent adults as well as minors who have been charged with drunk driving. The goal in every case is to preserve driving privileges and prevent a criminal conviction if possible.
The Problem With Blood Alcohol Content Testing
To determine BAC levels, police officers conduct a variety of tests such as:
- Breath tests
- Blood tests
- Field sobriety tests
Since studies have shown that these can be administered wrong or even give inaccurate results, it is still possible to defend against this evidence with an experienced DWI lawyer. Always remember, getting arrested for DWI in San Antonio only means that charges have been made against you. You are not guilty at this point.
It is your right to defend yourself against these charges, and hiring a competent and experienced DWI lawyer from The Law Firm of Joseph Lassen can protect your rights and, in some cases, get your charges and fines reduced or even dismissed.
Reasons To Use A Lawyer’s Services
If you have been charged with a DWI or DUI in San Antonio, it is imperative to get represented by a DWI lawyer immediately. DWIs and DUIs in Texas can, unfortunately, end up in steep court fines, court costs, probation, mandatory jail time, and endless classes and fees. If you are found guilty of a DWI or DUI, any additional charges can and will carry very strict penalties and even potentially state jail or prison time. You could also find yourself barred from any restaurant or bar that serves alcohol.
The best method to defend against DWI charges is to hire a DWI lawyer who knows what to expect in order to best defend your rights. In addition to handling the criminal issues involving your case, you only have 15 days to request an ALR (administrative license revocation) hearing. If you do not, your license will be automatically revoked on the 40th day after the DWI arrest.
This is why it’s imperative to contact a reputable DWI lawyer who is skilled at handling DWI cases in San Antonio. My experience as a former prosecutor and a long-term criminal defense attorney has taught me what to expect and how best to defend your DWI case.
Penalties For A First DWI Arrest
Your first DWI, if convicted, is a Class B misdemeanor. You can receive a fine of up to $2000, jail time of three to 180 days and a driver’s license suspension of 90 to 365 days. Additional circumstances of your DWI – prior convictions, other offenses included in DWI charge, accidents, speeding, bodily harm and other factors – will require further strategies to mitigate your circumstances. An initial offense demands careful attention from an experienced DWI lawyer.
Penalties For A Second DWI Arrest
A 2nd DWI carries higher penalties, court costs, jail time and all of the above fees. If convicted of a second DWI, it is a Class A misdemeanor. You could face a fine of up to $4,000, jail time of at least 30 days and up to one year, and a driver’s license suspension of 180 days and up to two years. More than likely, you will have to have an ignition interlock device on your car if you get a second DWI. To best defend against a second DWI conviction and minimize potential damages, you need to retain an experienced DWI lawyer who can help mitigate your circumstances.
Penalties For A Third DWI Arrest
A third DWI, and anything over a third offense, is a felony in the state of Texas. You face a fine of up to $10,000, can spend up to two to 10 years in prison, and may have your driver’s license suspended for 180 days and up to two years.
It is crucial to have representation from the early stages of the case. Regardless of what you are accused of, please keep in mind that these are only charges against you. You are not guilty of anything at this point. By immediately hiring an experienced DWI lawyer, you are giving yourself the best opportunity to mitigate your circumstances and reduce damages.
Request A Consultation
Call The Law Firm of Joseph Lassen at +1-210-625-6540 or send an email message to reach our San Antonio offices. I will aggressively defend your rights with the assistance of my dedicated legal staff. For more information, take a look at the DWI FAQ page.