Zealous And Skilled
Legal Action

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  » The consequences of underage drunk driving charges

The consequences of underage drunk driving charges

On Behalf of | Jan 22, 2022 | Criminal Defense, Criminal Law, DWI

If you are facing drunk driving charges as a minor, or if you have a child in this position, it is essential to understand the potential impact of the case. Aside from penalties imposed by the court, many other challenges can surface due to these allegations. For example, a young person could experience problems from an academic standpoint, and they could also face hurdles while trying to land a job in the future.

Some people do not realize that Texas has zero-tolerance concerning underage drunk driving, and it is important to understand what this means.

Underage drunk driving and zero tolerance

The Texas Department of Public Safety reports that this state has a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to those under the age of 21 operating a motor vehicle after consuming alcohol. If a driver under 21 has any alcohol in their system, they are breaking the law.

If law enforcement suspects that a minor driver has consumed alcohol, they could take them into custody and require the driver to take a breath test.

The penalties for underage drunk driving

If charged with drunk driving as a minor, the state could suspend your license for 60 days if it is your first time facing drunk driving charges, or 180 days if it is your third offense. You could have to perform community service, face a costly fine and even spend time behind bars.

Because of the immediate and potential long-term consequences of underage drunk driving charges, you need to carefully evaluate your options if you have found yourself in this position.

Share This